25 Pins in a packet women creators, A Saturday Woman Poet, Art, Contemporary Irish Women Poets, How Words Play, Small Books

“Chaplet” by C Murray

Chaplet

I.

A conversation amongst trees

I cannot hear what they are saying, that young girl
and the tree. Their whispers are intimate, ceaseless.

I am sunk into a conifer hedge, tamped into a wall,
threaded into the blue ivy.

This is a warm chaplet against the rain,
And I would lie here if it wasn’t for the sky-

the sky will not skew to my vision,
body conspires with green leaf to thrust me forward.

II.

Bower

 And I am become aware that it is time for this to cease,

A mead of daisies whiten on the windward side
of a grove. Trees,
daisies are blown white beneath silver beech.

Those hues balance
for once.
And,

and If I step at once from the shelter of this close bower,
Will it hold ?

© C Murray

Chaplet(2003) Lambda Print, courtesy of Alice Maher and the Green on Red Gallery, Dublin.

Chaplet (2003) Lambda Print, courtesy of Alice Maher and the Green on Red Gallery, Dublin.

 

The image  Chaplet  is by Alice Maher and is used for this poem courtesy of Alice Maher and the Green on Red Gallery, Dublin, Ireland. This is a re-posting of the original Chaplet poem and image which had been password-protected for some time.

Chaplet, a poem by C Murray