Day: November 12, 2011

I have been reading Fourteen Poems by Doris Lessing this week.

In a recent post  I referred to my curiosity about Doris Lessing’s poetry, in some ways this curiosity has been sated. Alison Greenlee, special collections librarian in Tulsa University assured me that Ms Lessing’s Book, Fourteen Poems was accessible in a Dublin College . Last monday morning I went out to UCD to access the book and to transcribe two poems from it for use on this blog. Jonathan Clowes literary agents have agreed that the Poethead blog can publish two poems from the Fourteen Poems book for a period of twelve months, the getting permission process is necessarily slow, and Poethead readers who wish read the two chosen poems are relying on my transcriptions! Two Things about the above statement, my transcriptions are generally ok, even when they occur in climate-controlled premises (which make me sleepy) and I chose the poems (sight unseen) from a list ! I like the two Lessing poems that I have chosen and I do hope that the permissions, which are winging their way to London as I write,  will allow their publication here in the next week or two. Fourteen Poems is an actual …