Maps, Transformation, Various, Walkabout

‘A Work for Poets’ by George Mackay Brown.

To have carved on the days of our vanity
A sun
A star
A cornstalk
 
Also a few marks
From an ancient forgotten time
A child may read
 
That not far from the stone
A well
Might open for wayfarers
 
Here is a work for poets –
Carve the runes
Then be content with silence.

by George Mackay Brown

 

Lux Perpetua.

A star for a cradle
Sun for plough and net
A fire for old stories
A candle for the dead.

Lux perpetua
By such glimmers we seek you.

I have two reading recommendations this sunny cold morning in Dublin,  Interrogation of SilenceThe  writings of George Mackay Brown Rowena and Brian Murray. Publ. John Murray 2004. The Absence of Myth , by Georges Bataille Publ. Version (1994/2006).

 


I am sad to hear the John Hurst, proprietor of Rare and Interesting Books in Westport died this past weekend, he always got the exact book that I sought and I had put him alongside Charlie Byrne’s In Galway for his excellent  collection of books. Indeed I had been re-reading a certain book this weekend that I had bought from him in the last years, RIP.

For those readers interested in  George Mackay Brown , I include here the GMB website , along with a link to a  short Poethead post on John’s lovely bookshop in Mayo.