Day: July 30, 2010

Interrogation of Silence; on George Mackay Brown.

I found interrogation Of Silence in Charlie Byrnes Bookshop in Galway, whilst awaiting the beginning of Nuala Ni Chonchúir’s launch of  You. I settled in the end for a biography of Ginsberg, having bought his Kaddish at an earlier date from the same shop, and the Collected Brown from Murray & Murray. The names of both books are added in at the end of this short piece. It took a while to get round to the Brown, though I am familiar with the salt of his writing and have added a poem of his onto Poethead recently. I am excerpting The Shining Ones from the Murray edition today, as I brought the book to hospital with me yesterday and enjoyed it tremendously, while realising that aside from daily writing , I rarely get prolonged periods of time with good books in the daily busyness and bustle of my world ! The Shining Ones They locked their crystal wings, and gravely eyed The man coming in, cold and remote and silent. His foot on the last step, he turned again  And threw one wild look …