A Charlotte Salomon image.

Another Salomon Image

I would like to thank Susan for sending me the information on Charlotte Salomon, I am looking at her images, and although I had studied   History of Art. I am ashamed to say that I knew very little of her. I am fast becoming a huge fan of Salomon’s beautiful images and of her use of colour.

The art of Leonard Baskin and Rb Kitaj , were, I suppose known to me through their engagement with books and literature. I was lucky enough to travel to London to See Kitaj’s retrospective at the Tate and to spend some time examining His work on Holocaust and Shoah. His Manifesto was available at the exhibition thus whetting the appetite to learn more.

Leonard Baskin’s close relationship to the poetry and ideas of Hughes and Plath provided that introductory to his art, that virtually overwhelmed my interest for quite some time.

I shall be looking out for Litographs and exhibitions of Salomon.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close